Schools Netball championship heats up as playoffs near

The 2019 SASN Secondary Schools Championships resumed on Saturday at Hoërskool Dr E.G. Jansen, with a jam-packed schedule for the girls.

Day 2 brought about lots of excitement, with many teams looking to improve their results after a tough opening day of the tournament.

In that regard, there were some exceptional performances in the Under-19 age group, not least Shayamoya who managed to go unbeaten on the day – including a narrow 22-20 victory over a very strong Paarl Gimnasium team. Other teams that went unbeaten throughout the day’s action included Rustenburg, Afrikaanse Hoër Meisieskool Pretoria (Affies), Framesby and HTS Middelburg in the Batho division (First Division).

Of the Ubuntu division (Second Division) teams, Phahama were the only to finish the day without being defeated. Defending champions Machakela-Mamodibo were however not far off, suffering just one defeat at the hands of Modilati, 7-21, in their last game of the day.

The SASN Secondary Schools Championships really heated up in the last two rounds of fixtures. Largely, winners played against each other in an attempt to get a better idea who will be the teams to watch in the playoffs and possible new national champions.

The last round of action, where the winners and losers of the last games of the round robin phase in the Batho Division, firstly saw Shayamoya upsetting Paarl Gim 22-20 in the first winners match up. Duineveld then narrowly lost out to a well disciplined Sentraal outfit 33-26, before Rustenburg, AHMP, Framesby and HTS Middelburg claimed impressive victories over Waterkloof (29-19), Zwartkop (30-17), Goudveld (21-18) and Potch Volkies (31-26). This will see all the winners playing against each other until there is one winner tomorrow.

The losers games saw victories for Noordheuwel, Stellenberg, Eldoraigne, and Pearson over Oranje (20-17), Diamantveld (26-22), and Kempton Park (25-19). The losers will also meet against each other in tomorrow’s action.

The Ubuntu division followed the same set up, with Modilati picking up the first victory in the winners section, defeating last year’s champions Machakela-Mamodibo 21-7. Phahama, and Manzomthombo also picked up crucial wins against Azwifarwi (20-16) and Idlangamabala (23-13).

The losers section saw wins for Heuwelkruin, Nhlanhlayethu, Edmund Rice, OR Tambo, and Khumosejoe over Generaal Hertzog (29-23), Ben Vorster (32-17), Masibambane (20-17), Nqabara (39-2), and Mashishing (19-18).

Come Sunday at Hoërskool Dr EG Jansen’s netball courts in Boksburg, the teams will be competing for national titles across the age groups from 8am right until the afternoon.